The Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year 2009

Nominations have been announced for The Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year Awards 2009, with finalists to be announced at an awards ceremony at The David Beckham Academy on Tuesday November 3.

Now in their 22nd year, the awards recognise the whole spectrum of female sporting success from leading sportswomen through to rising stars, to those working behind the scenes. This year a wealth of outstanding names were nominated, making the all important shortlist harder than ever.

The Sunday Times Sportswoman of the Year Award category is still open for public voting by visiting

The 2009 nominees are:

The Sunday Times Sportswoman of the Year Award

  • Jessica Ennis
  • Catriona Matthew
  • Victoria Pendleton
  • Gemma Spofforth
  • Claire Taylor
  • Chrissie Wellington

Team of the Year

  • England women's cricket team
  • Gillian Cooke and Nicola Minichiello (bobsleigh pair)
  • Great Britain women's canoe polo team

Disabled Sportswoman of the Year

  • Danielle Brown (archery)
  • Sarah Storey (cycling)
  • Clare Strange (wheelchair basketball)

Young Sportswoman of the Year

  • Elizabeth Armitstead (cycling)
  • Francesca Halsall (swimming)
  • Holly Colvin (cricket)

Sports Leader of the Year

  • Clare Connor (head of England women’s cricket at the ECB)
  • Rebecca Gibson (head of development for the Amateur Boxing Association of England)
  • Hope Powell (national coach of the England women’s football team)

Community Club Volunteer Award

  • Liz Chowienczyk
  • Bee Gregorie
  • Jane Jewell
  • Cathy Rooney

PE Teacher of the Year

  • Caroline Sidell (South Bromsgrove High, Bromsgrove)
  • Sue Simpson (Southend High School for Girls)
  • Annette Woodrow (Kingsbury High School, London)

Other categories; Sports Businesswoman, Sponsorship of the Year, The Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration and Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented at the awards ceremony on November 3.

This year sees a judging panel of 11 faces from the world of Sport.

The 2009 Judges are:

  • Eleanor Oldroyd - Chair of the judging panel and BBC Radio 5 Live presenter
  • Amanda Bennett - Head of Policy, UK Sport
  • Jo Colin - Head of High Quality PE, Youth Sport Trust
  • Danny Crates – Former Paralympic gold medal-winning athlete
  • Di Ellis - Chairman of British Rowing
  • Jon Holmes – Managing Director, Jon Holmes Media Ltd
  • Tessa Sanderson - Former Olympic javelin champion
  • Bryony Shaw - Olympic bronze medal-winning windsurfer
  • Georgie Thompson - Sky Sports presenter
  • Sue Tibballs – Chief Executive, Women's Sport and Fitness Foundation
  • Caroline Weber – Executive Director, Communications and Public Affairs, Sport England

The event has been made possible through the sponsorship and support of Sport England, UK Sport and CCPR. As the event's charity partner, the Women’s Sport and Fitness Foundation is also lending its support to the awards.

For further information, please contact Gaby Jesson or Laura Price on 020 7404 8264 or by email: or